Opening Hours

Mon - Fri: 7AM - 7PM

Ashtanga Yoga, a dynamic and disciplined practice, has a rich history deeply rooted in the ancient traditions of yoga. This article will provide an in-depth exploration of Ashtanga Yoga, its origins, history, and its primary objectives. We will also delve into the structured sequence of an Ashtanga Yoga flow, characterized by a specific series of postures and a strong emphasis on breath control. This practice offers practitioners a profound journey of self-discovery and personal transformation.

Origins and History:

Ashtanga Yoga, often referred to as “eight-limbed yoga,” traces its origins to the foundational text “Yoga Sutras,” attributed to the ancient sage Patanjali. This text outlines a comprehensive system for yoga practice and philosophy. However, the contemporary system of Ashtanga Yoga, as we know it today, was codified and popularized by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in the 20th century.

Pattabhi Jois inherited the practice from his guru, T. Krishnamacharya, who, in turn, was inspired by the ancient texts and traditions of yoga. This lineage emphasizes a systematic and disciplined approach to yoga practice, incorporating physical postures (asanas), breath control (pranayama), and meditative techniques.

Main Objectives:

Ashtanga Yoga is designed to achieve a balance between physical health, mental clarity, and spiritual growth. Its core objectives include:

  1. Physical Health: The practice places a strong emphasis on purifying and strengthening the body. It combines flexibility and strength, allowing practitioners to cleanse internal organs, promote overall physical health, and increase vitality.
  2. Mental Clarity: Ashtanga Yoga encourages mental clarity through the synchronization of breath and movement. The practice requires full attention to the present moment, enhancing concentration, mindfulness, and reducing mental chatter.
  3. Spiritual Growth: The practice of Ashtanga Yoga follows the eight limbs of yoga outlined in Patanjali’s “Yoga Sutras.” These limbs are woven into the practice to guide practitioners towards self-realization and spiritual growth.

The Ashtanga Yoga Flow:

Ashtanga Yoga is characterized by a specific and structured sequence of postures, with each sequence building upon the previous one. The practice is divided into two primary series: the primary series (Yoga Chikitsa) and the intermediate series (Nadi Shodhana).

The Primary Series (Yoga Chikitsa):

  1. Opening Sequence: The practice commences with Surya Namaskar A and B, also known as Sun Salutations. These warm-up sequences prepare the body and mind for the practice. Sun Salutations are followed by a series of standing poses that build strength and flexibility. This segment forms the foundation for the entire practice.
  2. Seated Sequence: The primary series includes a sequence of seated poses, forward bends, and twists. The breath remains the focal point as practitioners navigate through these postures, deepening the connection between breath and movement.
  3. Finishing Sequence: The primary series concludes with backbends and inversions. These postures promote balance and closure, allowing practitioners to assimilate the benefits of their practice.

The Intermediate Series (Nadi Shodhana):

The intermediate series builds upon the primary series, introducing more complex and challenging postures. It also places a greater focus on backbending and hip opening. As practitioners advance through the primary series, they develop the physical and mental strength required to progress to the intermediate series.


Ashtanga Yoga is a transformative journey that encompasses the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of well-being. Rooted in the ancient traditions of yoga and further developed by modern yoga masters, this practice provides a structured path to self-discovery, spiritual growth, and holistic health. By following the structured sequences and paying close attention to the breath, Ashtanga Yoga nurtures physical health, mental clarity, and a profound connection with the inner self. It is a dynamic and disciplined practice that empowers individuals to embrace the holistic benefits of yoga, nurturing mind, body, and spirit. The journey of Ashtanga Yoga is not just about the poses; it is a voyage of self-realization and transformation, where the mind, body, and spirit are harmoniously united.


Melanie is a passionate advocate for holistic wellness and personal growth, with a focus on promoting self-love, magic, and mental health. As the author of Blissful Balance Wellness, Melanie combines movement, healing, yoga, and a little witchcraft to offer a range of informative and insightful articles on all aspects of mind, body, and spirit. With a dedication to empowering readers to find bliss and balance in their lives, Melanie provides a unique perspective on holistic health that is both informative and inspiring.

Recommended Articles

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *